Carryduff Colts 2 – Newhill 2 (Colts win 4-1 on penalties)

Carryduff Colts 2 - 2 Newhill
13 May 2016Bangor 3G

image2On a sunny still evening in Bangor the Colts turned out against League Champions and NIBFA finalists Newhill in the SBYFL U16 Cup  Final. After finishing runners up in the League for the 2nd year in a row to Newhill the Colts were in determined form to win Carryduff Colts first SBYFL Cup.

Th game was nip and tuck for the first 20 minutes, as you can imagine the top two teams in the league didn’t give much away, and every challenge was a committed 100% event.

Eoin Maguire in the Colts goals was distributing the ball really well, and although 4 of the starting 11 had played in the Belfast Schools Cup Final earlier in the day for OLSPCK, the energetic Caolan Cunningham up front was starting to cause havoc in the Newhill defence, but it was Newhill who opened the scoring, a deflected shot called Maguire into making a smart save and with a secondary lapse in concentration in the Colts defence the Newhill forward stroked the ball into the Colts net, and 1:0 to Newhill.

Rory Reilly continued his excellent form, and delivered a couple excellent free kicks, but no end product kept the score at 1:0 down at half time.

The 2nd half started at a frantic pace, with the Colts having the majority of the play, and with 10 minutes gone it was that man Rory Reilly who played and midfield splitting pass the Tommy Connery who took an exquisite touch and in one movement rolled the ball into the Newhill box, the oncoming Simon Turkington rolled the Newhill centre defender with an amazing Zidane-like turn, and just as he was about the pull the trigger the Newhill defender hauled him down, PENALTY to the Colts! and to rub salt into Newhill a red card for the unfortunate defender. With Michael Lawson off the pitch Ryan Tweedy took the responsibility to take the spot kick, and as he placed the ball to the Newhill keepers left a fantastic save from  him resulted in the score remaining 1:0 to Newhill. Was this a turning point against the Colts, no, it just spurred them on! After the saved penalty the ball broke to Jack Millar on the left wing, and with the silkiest of skills Jack jinked his way into the Newhill box, beating two defenders on his way and as the Newhill keeper advanced off his line Jack calmly curled the ball into the far corner!!! 1:1 and game on now.

The Colts used their one man advantage and now controlled the game, and with in minutes of the equaliser Ryan Tweedy released the ball to the energetic Leo McGowan who curled a tremendous effort from 20 yards out with his left foot which smashed into the cross bar!!

The Colts defence of Tom Webb-Jones, Jonny Wilson, Paul Doherty and Peter Duncan held strong, while Colts keeper Eoin Maguire was dominating his box with some super crosses and distribution. It wasn’t long before the Colts got a well deserved lead, yet again Rory Reilly delivered a pin point free kick, and this time it was met fantastically well by Simon Turkington who powered in a header!! 2:1 to the Colts!!

Newhill continued to press, and with 2 minutes remaining they pulled back an unlikely equaliser following a lack of concentration in the Colts defence, 2:2 and penalties looming.
The ref blew for full time and penalties would decide the Cup Final.

First to step up was Rory Reilly, always a difficult penalty to take, but not for Rory….. 1:0 to the Colts!
Newhill equalised to make it 1:1
Next up was Michael Lawson, yet to miss a penalty all season…… Bang, 2:1 to the Colts.
Newhill stepped up for their second, a well taken spot kick, but Colts keeper Eoin Maguire dived full stretch to his right and held the spot kick!! what a save! Still 2:1 to the Colts.
Next up Ryan Tweedy who’d had his earlier penalty saved, but with a cool head and confidence to take a 2nd penalty Ryan made it 3:1 to the Colts!
Newhill stepped up for their 3rd penalty, again another well taken spot kick, but again Eoin Maguire in the Colts goals diver to his left this time and saved again!!! 3:1 to the Colts!!
Next up for the Colts was Simon Turkington, score this and the Colts win the first ever SBYFL Cup Final…….. Up he steps, a bit of stutter….. bang, bottom right corner and it’s all over, 4:1 to the Colts!!!!!! And the U16 SBYFL Cup belongs to the Colts, their first in the Clubs short history!!!!!!⚽️??

A truly excellent Cup Final played in the right spirit by the best two teams in the Premier League by some distance, with Newhill winning the league title and Carryduff claiming runners up. Newhill head off to the U16 NIBFA Cup Final next week and we wish them all the very best, but tonight belonged to the Colts! U16 SBYFL Cup WINNERS!!!!


Scorers: Jack Millar & Simon Turkington in normal time, Rory Reilly Michael Lawson Ryan Tweedy and Simon Turkington in penalties.

Man of The Match: Eoin Maguire

Result: Carryduff 2:2 Newhill, Carryduff win 4:1 on penalties!!!