Carryduff U15 B 3 v 5 Immaculata U15

Carryduff U15 B 3 - 5 Immaculata U15
05 Dec 2015 - 09:30Lough Moss Leisure Centre - SBYL U15 2nd Division

This turned out to be a high scoring match played in very blustery conditions.

Carryduff opened well and should have scored in the first 5 minutes when a Rory Thompson free kick skidded across the six yard line and should have been converted. There were plenty of chances for both sides in the opening 20 minutes with the high winds making defending awkward. Immaculata went ahead after 20 mins when a mistake in the Carryduff defence allowed the centre forward to convert. Carryduff heads seemed to go down and Immaculate scored another two goals in quick succession to go into half time 3 nil up.

With Carryduff needing a quick start to the second half Rory Thompson got one back inside 5 minutes, a tremendous effort from outside the box which flew into the net. Rory followed this up with another goal soon after when he pounced on a excellent through pass from Eoin Haigney to round the keeper and score. Carryduff were now well on top and Rory was unlucky not to complete his hat kick when a superb volley from outside the box scraped the post and went just wide. Against the run of play Immaculata scored another goal which but this did not deflate the Carryduff come back. Conor Mulgrew who was playing well on the right hand side cut into the box and somehow managed to squeeze the ball into the top corner of the net. With Carryduff pressing for the equaliser Immaculate scored a fifth goal on the breakaway to seemingly take the game out of reach. However Cain McDonnell had two great chances in the dying moments of the game to savage a draw but in the end Immaculata ran out 5 – 3 winners.

The game was a credit to both teams given the conditions. Another excellent fighting performance by Carryduff with Leo McMahon, Rory Thompson and Jack Murray all turning in excellent performances.

Squad: James Rodgers, Matthew Clayton, Leo McColgan (Eoin McGlennon), Luke Taylor, Conor Mackey (Cian McDonnell), Nye Henrik (Conor Mulgrew), Euan Neeson, Eoin Haigney, Rory Thompson, Jack Murray (Mark Cleary)